The development of tourism contributed to English becoming the most prominent language in the world. Some people think this will lead to English becoming the only language to be spoken globally. What are the advantages and disadvantages to having one language in the world?

The boom in tourism industry, also gave a sudden rise to the use of English language, as a way to communicate worldwide. However, this has lead many people to believe, that English will dominate all the other languages, proceeding to their eventual disappearance. As a result, only one tongue will be spoken all around the world, that will have its own advantages and disadvantages.

One apparent benefit of having one global language is that, it would help to have a better understanding between different nations. To give an instance, if everyone spoke only one language, it will not only be helpful for the countries to improve their mutual understanding, but also create harmony among people throughout the globe. This, in turn, will further advance the process of gaining and sharing of knowledge and information, helpful for economic growth. Moreover, when people will have a singular language, there will be fewer hurdles in developing comprehension of ideas, therefore businesses will prosper between countries, resulting in a stronger world economy.

On the other hand, there are innumerable disadvantages of having only one global language. To begin with, one official language globally, will result in the gradual disappearance of all the other languages and with them, their cultures. Diverse culture of the world has its own beauty that attracts tourist from different regions. Every culture has its unique characteristics of life which will be lost if there will be only one language. In addition, travel business will collapse because there will be no variation, people will lose their interest and eagerness to know about other civilizations, since there will be a same language and a similar culture. Aftermath of this will be, economies relying on tourism as a source of income, will be ruined.

In conclusion, having one global language has its plus points, but on s downside, too much will be lost. For cultures and heritages to be preserved, it is important to priorities the local languages for the generations to come.