The development of tourism contributed to English becoming the most prominent language in the world. Some people think this will lead to English becoming the only language to be spoken globally.

What are the advantages and disadvantages of having one language in the world?

In this modern world, travelling around the world is very easy and comfortable, this has boosted the tourism industry. Also, it has been observed that English has become the most important language in the world due to increased tourism. It has been believed by some people that English would become the only language that would be accepted globally.In this essay I will look at various benefits and drawbacks of having one global language.

There are many benefits of accepting one language globally. The major advantage is that there would be no language barrier. It is very common to see tourists struggle to communicate with native citizens. This will further boost up their confidence as it would be tough to fool them or cheat them. For an instance the shopkeepers took advantage of language barrier to fool the foreigners by charging double or higher amount for a cheaper product.

Another positive impact that one global language will bring is that there would be no biasing. For an instance there is an increase in the rate of hatred crimes for the outsiders in USA. When a group of tourists go out together for some trip and they talk in their own native language, they are bullied and treated badly as compared to the other tourist who could fluently speak in the language of that country.

However, one common language through out the world have some negative impacts also. The major drawback of this trend would be, people would forget the significant value of their cultural language. Talking about the next generation, they would be deprived of cultural knowledge as language is the identity of any culture. For an instance a child living in USA went back to India for vacation would find it very difficult to communicate with his grandparents as they are only comfortable in speaking their local language. Thus, this trend will not only bring cultural gap but also bring communication gap between different generations.

In conclusion there could be many advantages of having one common language world-wide such as lesser crimes with foreigners, decreased language gap. Although it has some drawbacks which cannot be overlooked such as communication gap between grandparents and grandchildren, also a cultural gap.