The development of tourism contributed to English becoming the most prominent language in the world. Some people think this will lead to English becoming the only language to be spoken globally.

Nowadays more and more people are using English while travelling around the world. There is an opinion in society that this will cause English to dominate among the all languages. Using one global language would obviously make communication between countries easier, however this has also some negative effects.

The main positive effect of having one universal language is the it would enhance the understanding between countries. Hence, if all the people in the world speak the same language, it will be easier for them to share the information and ideas. More than that, using one language can result in economic growth. Thus, if nations speak the global language, they would have more opportunities for their trade and business.

Nevertheless, despite the advantages above, there are also some drawbacks of using one global language. Firstly, this will lead to the eventual disappearing of the other languages around the world. That means the loss of not only letters and grammar but also national cultures and literature. There are expressions and words in some languages that can not be translated to English literally. For example, northern Russian nations have about 50 words describing the word “snow” and it is impossible to transfer the mood and emotions of northern tails using only one words. Secondly, the mentioned consequence will lead to another negative point. If all national languages disappear there will be the universal culture. Therefore, people will not want to travel because nothing will be to explore. This will bankrupt economy of small countries and nations. More than that all the interpreters will get redundant and will lose their job.

In conclusion, benefits of using one language for all nations are overweighted by disadvantages because using different languages help to preserve cultural heritage and diversity for future generations.