Do you agree or disagree with the following statement: Sometimes people think nowadays the media (TV, newspaper, Internet) are less concerned about the accuracy of news than in the past, and the incorrect information may cause more problems to the public.

There are always good and bad consequences following technological developments. Nowadays, the accuracy of the news indeed much less than before. With the development and progress of the network platform, the public has many ways to contact a variety of news meanwhile the authenticity of these news has also lost its guarantee.

Firstly, the development of the Internet has extended the birth of self-media. In other words, it is operated by an independent individual rather than by a company or government institution. Accordingly, these self-media content will also have a lot of news that they have made up. For example, they will exaggerate or falsify facts in order to gain higher popularity and flow, because that seems unreasonable news can really attract people’s attention.

At the same time, due to the lack of supervision by relevant departments, these fake news are more readily spread on the Internet. For instance, the onion news we familiar is typical to please the public in the form of fake news.

Secondly, although these fake news can be favored by the public, they will also cause some problems, especially in the life circle of the elders. Taking my parents as an example, my parents always send some fake news to me and tell me to pay attention to these things.such as eating some fruits can lead to poisoning or discovering unknown creatures in outer space, etc. These ridiculous news really makes my parents fearful, but obviously, it is totally unnecessary. But in this situation is hard to explain to my parents, because they are used to believe the news from the public media.

Finally, the news in the past indeed more accurate than it is now. Because in the past, all the news are from the government media such as official TV program, newspaper or official Internet platform and so on. There would be a special commissioner to review these news from the official media, therefore the credibility of these news is extremely high. In addition, the official media would not permit the mistake or fake news happened. Contrast with nowadays, because fake news and pictures are abundant and sometimes difficult to distinguish, even the official media will make false reports occasionally. For example, pictures of aliens processed by photoshop have been published many times by some official media.

According to the above statements, the current news does have an amount of false content, some of which will affect the public and some just to entertain the public. It is precisely because of this that the public needs to read these news with critical thinking to prevent to lost in the massive information.