Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Teacher were more appreciated and valued by society in the past than they were nowadays. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Talking about the appreciation and the value of teachers, most of the people suppose that the value of teachers is not as respect as before. In reality, this is a complicated issue, the issue is not only about our social development but also about the public concern with education. From my own perspective, I suppose that nowadays people respect teachers more than before.

Firstly, with the development of social sophisticated, people pay more attention to education rather than other things such as commerce or farming. Parents hope their children receive more education rather than do business, and the nations also prefer to invest in education, let more students study without too much tuition fee. Obviously, in this situation, the population naturally maintain high expectations for teachers. For instance, in China, the parents pay a great amount of money to support their children to the elite school. Because the most famous teachers are in those schools, parents believe the elite teachers not only have the advanced educational methods which could help their children studied efficiently but also have the high morality which will treat the students more kindly.

Secondly, according to the expectations of teachers have improved, the teachers are very different from the traditional ones. They need to meet many necessary conditions to become a qualified teacher. In the past, people would become a teacher directly when they graduated from the college of education. But nowadays, Teachers need to make an effort to get the professional certificate through many teacher qualification exams. The more rigid requirements mean the society takes more appreciated and valued about educators.

Thirdly, education aside, the status of teachers also improved than before. In my parents time, our country(China) encouraged people to do business or do politics rather than became a teacher. So the merchant or the politician would get more reputations than teachers. But now, lots of elites are willing to become a teacher to enhance their reputation so that helping them to get more opportunities to explore social connections. Take my college teacher as an example, my teacher he had a Ph.D. in Germany and he becomes our school's professor when he returned overseas. He also has his own business, lots of his business partners trust him because of his identity which is our school's professor. Teacher in nowadays means responsibly, selflessly and greatly.

In conclusion, I have shown that our society is more appreciated and valued to the teachers according to the attitudes of civics, nations and the status of teachers.