Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Protecting the Environment is the responsibility of the government. Use specific reasons and examples to support your opinion.

Environment plays a crucial role in evolution of humankind. While some argue that the government is obligated to protect it, I disagree with this statement. In this essay I will discuss why awareness among citizens is crucial in conserving the nature and also the role of corporations and nonprofit organizations to combat the effects of climate change.

There is ample evidence indicating that role of multinational companies is vital in up keeping the living world. The central reason for this is twofold, primarily, industries are second largest contributor in disrupting the natural habitat. Containing the waste along with prevention of toxic gases into the atmosphere will slow down the process of deterioration. Secondly, communities should actively participate in preserving the environment. As government is pre occupied in looking after the welfare of the people and country, NGO’s and communities should come forward and act against the pollution of water and air. To cite an example, a petition carried out by a activist group in Paris against the rape of women had a brilliant reach across the world and bought the percentage of rape in France by 2%. Therefore it is conclusively clear that the fight against destruction of nature seek stronger ally in corporations and activist groups.

Furthermore, despite the laws laid out by the administration it all comes down to people and their mindset towards the surroundings that determine the way forward. The onus is on citizens to be aware of the catastrophic effects on nature as their consumption of goods or services has significant impact in the increasing levels of toxic gases in air and water. It is pivotal that they are mindful of the ways to save the habitat. For instance, sustainable living has to be followed with emphasis of recycling, reusing and reduction of materials that possibly can have adverse effect on flora and fauna of the world. Thus it is possible to state that individuals are the deciding factor in safe guarding the environment.

To sum up, although government regulates the policies to conserve the surroundings, I believe that the responsibility in safekeeping the nature has to be shared by the citizens, corporations and various communities.