Doing an enjoyable activity with a child can develop better skills and more creativity than reading.

To what extent do you agree?

Use reasons and specific examples to explain your answer.

Parents across the world spend time in reading with their children to prepare them for school, where their literacy level is further enhanced, however, recent research suggests that pushing infants for reading at an early age can be detrimental, and participating in fun activities would be far more beneficial. I am a strong advocate of the second approach and the advantages of this will be covered in this essay.

Firstly, there is no biological age for reading and pushing child to acquire this skill before they are ready, could have serious repercussions. For example, in India many girls are reluctant readers, possibly because of being forced to read and this turned them off reading. Instead of pressurising children to read, involve them in other activities and developing other skills such as imagination, creativity. Through play, they can develop social as well cognitive skills. They learn vocabulary through context rather than learning it from a book.

Secondly, there is no scientific research which suggests that reading at a young age is mandatory for the development of a child. In fact, several studies concluded that fun activities including sports, painting, drawing etc are very helpful for developing skills such as socialising, visualising and imaging things. Reading a book is like learning from someone’s imaginations or experiences but in other activities, it could learn from their own thought process that makes long lasting.

To conclude, though I have supported other activities for developing better skills in child rather than reading, there is no harm to add it in a routine in form of story telling instead of focussing on it.