Do you think it is better for students to work before their university study? Why? Use reasons and specific examples to support your choice.

It is common for a student in abroad to work for a year prior to university. Now this trend has started in India too and many students prefer to join a job before embarking on a formal qualification. In my opinion, there are several benefits of getting a break for a year after finishing schooling and I am going to describe in this essay.

Firstly, this decision not only make a pupil independent but also open their mind to a new world such as having responsibility at work, managing finances, and learning new things at work place. Having spent a year in Canada prior to university, I learnt how to look for work, become responsible with finances and essential life skills such as cooking. Besides, this also helps them to choose a course for higher studies as per the global requirement.

Secondly, practical experience is very important to understand what have been learnt in theoretical part. In addition, it also an opportunity to experiment with different jobs before choosing a career at university.

In fact, most of the companies prefer to get a trained person having basic knowledge of work profile instead of offering a job to a fresher. Therefore, it is an additional qualification to grab an opportunity after finishing studies.

To conclude, working before entering the university has several advantages, which are not only economically viable but also worth in gaining knowledge. Every student should opt working prior to university. Times should be spent wisely as it can never be recuperated.