Due to the development and rapid expansion of supermarkets in some countries, many small, local businesses are unable to compete. Some people think that the closure of local business will bring about the death of local communities.

To what extent do you agree or disagree.

The proliferation of supermarkets in rural and urban areas is on the rise. It is thought to be beneficial by some and damaging to the local businesses by others. While people with both points of view continue to exist, I strongly believe that opening up of shopping marts helps local communities to bloom and blossom.

Proponents of the idea argue that international products render national investors out of business. As increasing numbers of cheap goods are available to choose from, sufficient funds may not be available to local people to produce items of comparable quality. For example, ever since the advent of China in the cotton and food industry, native Pakistani cotton fabric industry has almost shut down. This has also resulted in many individuals being unemployed, also leaving local contractors paralysed.

However, while such problems do occur, large shopping areas, in fact, help to sustain local produce. Firstly, as competitors stock their articles from around the world, inhabitants of the area stand a better chance to sell their crops and finished goods to a greater number of customers. Generation of increased amount of revenue would be a direct consequence, therefore, enhancing the gross domestic product in return. Moreover, the establishment of supermarkets can help to feel pride en masse. This can be especially true in cases where local items occupy shelves of supermarkets, enabling purchases by international customers. Provided marketing strategies are put to us, a brand might become popular all over the world, thereby setting the stage for uplifting morale.

Hence, it is imperative that growth and sustenance of supermarkets will fuel the survival of local communities.