E81

With the advent of artificial intelligence, modern robots, termed steel employees, are deployed in various sectors like maritime researches, space exploration, and assembly lines. While they take possession of numerous glaring advantages, their disadvantages should also be taken into account.

On the one hand, their pros are umpteenth. The presence of autonomous robots in the automobile industry and the assembly lines of electronic devices greatly contributes to the emancipation of required human workforce. Nowadays, only a limited number of workers are present to monitor automated production lines rather than dozens of skilled workers as previously demanded. More importantly, not only efficiency is ameliorated but also precision and accuracy are remarkably enhanced. As such, the prevalence of smart machines is embraced in developed countries. In Japan, for example, one of every ten thousand workers is a robot.

Robots are also qualified for performing tasks in hazardous environments which are inaccessible to human beings. In recent years, mankind has aggrandized their comprehension of the universe whose perils and hazards are ubiquitous. Scientists have robots which are adept at engaging themselves in extreme temperatures of the outer space. Moreover, doctors can have recourse to robots to execute complex operations. Those machines are poised to uphold their functions incessantly while human doctors need breaks and sleep.

On the other hand, their inconveniences are undeniable. First of all, all robots and smart devices are designed and erected by human beings. Thus, they follow pre-installed procedures and instructions that are prone to malfunctions. Besides, creativity is one of the human attributes that is not available in robots.

In short, I believe that robots are our assistants only. Despite their robustness in various fields, they are unable to replace human beings and do not play a decisive role in our lives.