TPO 27 - Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

If people have the opportunity to get a secure job, they should take it right away rather than wait for a job that would be more satisfying. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

People have different attitudes towards whether to opt for an immediate secure job or wait for a more satisfying one. In my opinion, I give my vote to the former option. I feel this way for three reasons which I will explore in the following essay.

First and foremost, immediately taking a secure job certainly helps people to make ends meet in the short-term. As such, they have resources to pay for their basic needs like food, accommodation, insurance which cannot be afforded without monthly income. Besides, this amount of money allows employees to survive to wait for a more satisfying job to come. My own example is a compelling example. I had wished to work for a big oil & gas company. However, after graduating the university ten years ago, I started working for a small chemical company to make a living and waited for my chance to come. Two years later, I applied for a position at Repsol and have worked for them since then.

Secondly, people do not know for sure what a satisfying job is until they actually engage into tasks. It is likely that a dreaming job can turn into a nightmare when you really dive into it and vice versa an undesired but secure job may make us satisfied at later stage. My cousin´s experience exemplifies this idea. He graduated with financial background and loved to work for a big international bank. However, he had to apply for a position in an insurance company as a temporary option after he had stayed at home for twelve months without getting any offer from any bank. Gradually, he found that insurance is an appropriate choice which attractive perks. My cousin feels absolutely satisfied with his role and considers insurance his lifetime career.

Last but not least, people can learn new experience even when they work temporarily in an industry. This valuable understanding and knowledge may enrich his background and profile which in turn is helpful for their future application. For example, experience acquired as sale person may be useful for a future banker as he or she can understand better what their clients are in need of.

In conclusion, my view is that we should accept a job as soon as available. This is because we can earn instant money to cover our life and because we are able to gain neccessary understanding for our future career or by chance that offer can be as satifying as we wish.