Early schooling has been always a point of dispute among people. While a relatively large proportion of society thinks formal studies ought to be started in the early years, I believe compulsory school for children below 7 years old is a wrong idea.

On the one hand, numerous parents argue that early literacy is beneficial for their offspring. Scientifically, some studies indicate that children are high-speed learners, and the younger the person, the more capable his mind is to learn new subjects. So, parents prefer to build a growing environment for their descendants by hiring a family tutor or sending them to pre-schooling activities. They believe fortifying their academic background at an early age can increase the chance of becoming an elite in the future and studying in top-ranked universities. For example, my parents enrolled me in a French kindergarten when I was 3 years old. So, I have been learning French since then and I am very fluent in this language which boosts my chance to be admitted to IFP university in France.

On the other hand, I believe the idea of commencing formal school-like instruction very soon could be harmful in many aspects. Firstly, adulthood activities can create lots of pressure and burden on children which may hurt their mental health status and increase the risk of many illnesses such as depression and anxiety. Secondly, thanks to recent development in psychology, psychologists proved that the one-model-fit-all approach is not applicable anymore. In another word, every kid has his potential and talents so he should experience a different kind of art, sport, and skills before the age of 7 to understand his favor. Finally, studies have shown that play-based learning not only helps children to solidify their cognitive abilities such as self-regulation and time management but help them to be more innovative and bright-minded in their adulthood and they will be more successful later in life.

To sum up, I argue that although early schooling provides many advantages for children, it could have harmful side effects in the long run.