Some people think that employers should not be concerned about how employees dress at work, but the quality of work only. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

These days, dressing professionally is a point of argument among people and the majority of society believes personnel’s outfits in the workspace have nothing to do with the employer and recruiters should be just focused on their staffs’ work qualification indications. I disagree entirely with this idea and I believe although staff maybe sometimes annoyed by wearing business professional attire, it could benefit businesses and organizations in many aspects.

I think the staff in some organizations should wear special clothes, and preferably uniform, for various reasons. Firstly, you never get a chance for making a good first impression again and on some occasions, especially if you are working in a trading office, clients will be unpleasant to see a person wearing casual attire and it is crucial to come off as professional and confident as possible. Secondly, in some organizations wearing a uniform with special decoration, is not only essential for being organized but also an indication of the person's job status and hierarchy in the system. For example, my father has been working in military service for more than 20 years and one of his unforgettable memories is about a day he was on a mission and he used the wrong decoration that as a consequence, the security guard was reluctant to allow him to enter the military site. Finally, recent studies proved that dressing appropriately not only impacts your self-confidence but also influences the image that upper-level managers have of you and gives you a competitive edge over others, and affects your promotion potential.

Moreover, in some dangerous working environments, special attention should be taken for considering every caution and risk so obeying the company’s overall dress code is pivotal. For example, at a drilling site drilling crews are always exposed to many dangers such as smelling poisonous gases and fire and they must adhere to safety standards. So, HSE engineers in the yard must ensure safety for everyone and they always check whether staffs wear flame-resistant clothes, safety goggles, and hamlets.

To sum up, I do believe although a one-size-fits-all dress code seems traditional, it is really important to consider a high level of formality in choosing your work outfit.