Economic growth and development are usually considered to be beneficial both for individuals and society as a whole. What are some advantages and disadvantages of economic development?

It is often said that economic growth and development is nothing else but benefits for people and society as a whole because they improve life quality of people and employment market. When the advantages are obvious, one should take into account possible disadvantages, which such growth implies.

On the one hand, economic growth requires more volumes of resources, therefore the significant number of new working places appears on the market, which reduces the unemployment rate in the country. With the growth of industries and technologies, there are different positions available for people with different qualifications, as for those who do not have any qualifications, to employees with high qualifications. As a result, the wealth of people is increasing and the wealth of the country accordingly.

Moreover, economic development improves the well-being of people, providing more reliable medical appliances and social benefits. By facilitating such services, a country will contribute in the health and happiness of its citizens in the long run and increase their loyalty. Furthermore, economic development is closely connected with education; more positions require more specialists, labour market dictates employment requirements. People will become more professional and highly qualified.

But, on the other hand, economic development with its rapid industry growth will deteriorate the environmental situation. Heavy industries and factories are generating huge amounts of waste and air pollution, which in some cases may be irreversible. For example, in China, where economic growth is pacing at a huge speed, due to intense factory load, the ecology of some regions is in dramatic condition.

In conclusion, whereas advantages of economic growth, such as improved quality of life and decreased levels of unemployment are unquestionable, the disadvantages such as air and water pollution must be taken into account.