Elderly people are nowadays being sent to old aged homes rather than being looked after by a family in homes. Do the advantages of old aged homes outweigh the disadvantages?

With the advent of advanced technologies, social liberation and fast paced lifestyles, family structures have changed considerably in order to adapt to environments they live in. One of the common patterns which have emerged lately is that of fewer children, working parents and elder members of the family living in retirement homes. Despite intuitive beliefs of this being inappropriate as families should always care for ageing members, there are practical reasons for such an arrangement being good for everyone. This essay outlines two such aspects to show why retirement homes are good for the elderly.

Firstly, the loneliness which is one of the biggest difficulties of old age is automatically solved by retirement homes as people get to live with others of their own generation. For example, my grandparents could never relate to the 21st-century topics discussed at our family gatherings. They were more comfortable in bygone nostalgia and could very well mingle among people of their own generation. Such a company of people being easily available in retirement homes helps their mental health to be in a very good shape.

Secondly, elderly people almost always need specialised care which they can feel confident about. Retirement homes are equipped with professionals to provide for the needs of their clientele. This is not always possible in a family of all working adults. Hence, retirement homes become a better case for the wellbeing of the elderly.

So, as seen from above two aspects of companionship and care, retirement homes are rather a better option for the elderly. Thus the taboo of retirement homes should be erased and they should be recognised as important institutions of our society.