Employers should give their staff at least a 4-week holiday a year to make employees better at their jobs. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is a view that, employees perform better if they are compensated with a minimum 4 week vacation annually. I completely agree with this view. In this essay I will explain why I support this view.

To begin with, a 4 week vacation motivates the employee to work hard. This is because, employee can often work relentlessly if they think they will get a vacation at the end of their tireless project. For example, research done on 1000 employee of a software company, shows a long leave form work is usually the driving force behind their hard work. In contrast, if they are not compensated with such vacation, lethargy sinks in and they often delay completing their project.

Secondly, such breaks can provide psychological benefit by reducing stress. An employee is always under tremendous pressure. They work over time and even on weekends. Office worker often finds its hard to balance work life and thus feels pressurized. This is because, they usually have a tight deadline to finish projects and to meet this deadline they work all day and night, neglecting families and friends and sometimes even their health. So, if an employee is given 4 week vacation, she/he will have enough time to enjoy, to relax. A break from the work provides much needed relief and releases this tension. As a result, the employee finds her/his motivation and comes back to work happy.

In conclusion, considering the benefit of motivation and stress reduction offered by a long annual vacation, I strongly support the view of providing a 4 week yearly leave to all employees.