Employers should pay young people the same salary as older colleagues doing the same job To what extend do you agree or disagree

Employers of labour often pay younger people equal salary as older contemporaries. I am of the opinion that remuneration should be based on experience and skills irrespective of age. The following will explain my views in detail.

In the Labour Market, experience and skills matter and it informs employment decisions. Firstly, a younger employee could be more experienced than an older employee which often translates to higher pay. For instance, some companies have different employment packages for more experienced employees engaged in the same role with less experienced ones. Besides, an employer of labour would compensate a higher skilled worker more than lower one engaged in similar roles. For example, a Banker with a Master's degree and an accounting qualification should be expected to earn higher than one with just a Bachelor's degree doing the same job. Thus, skills and experience matters in the working environment.

However, it would be a total injustice for employers to discriminate in pay without a clear discrepancy in the number of working years and qualifications obtained regardless of their ages in same role. This entails that similar skills and experience should be offered equal renumeration. Hypothetically, if John has worked as an Engineer with the same number of years as Tom, he is right to anticipate equal pay. Therefore, for justice to prevail in the workplace, equality of wages for contemporaries with similar conditions should be encouraged.

In conclusion, age should never be considered as a factor that determines compensation in a workplace. Equivalent wages amongst employees on the same job is only valid when they have similar skills and experience.