Some people think the modern technology is making people more sociable, while others think it is making them less sociable. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

There seem to be divergent views as regards to the impact of modern technology on social relations. There are valid points in its ability to make people more or less sociable. This paper discusses both sides of the divide but I am of the opinion that modern technology makes people less sociable.

Modern technology has made it increasingly possible to reach out to people of multiple cultures outside one's location. This enhances social integration which enables people to know more about other people's culture. In addition, modern technology helps to enlarge network for business advancement. Thus, if one depends on outdated means of advertising products rather than leveraging on modern technology like social media, radio and television, there will be limited patronage all things being equal.

However, people who think modern technology is detrimental to friendliness always point to the absence of interpersonal communication such as gestures. They claim that lack of interpersonal communication has made people less sociable since the advent of tools like Facebook, email and Twitter. Secondly, the increasing rate of internet fraud has also made people less sociable as they limit the use of modern technology which tends to be counterproductive.

In conclusion, I am of the opinion that the emergence of modern technology has made people less sociable than more because of lack of interpersonal communication and internet fraud. However, modern technology's ability to reach out to wide range of people is commendable and should be encouraged because its benefits could outweigh the costs. Also, modern technology's ability to make businesses prosper via reaching out to more customers could lead to the advancement of everyone by increasing profitability and general well-being of people.