Employers sometimes ask people applying for jobs for personal information, such as their hobbies and interests, and whether they are married or single.

Some people say that this information may be relevant and useful. Others disagree.

Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Managers usually ask people who are applying for jobs their personal details like hobbies, free time interests or about their marital status. It is believed by some people that asking those questions might be necessary while others think it is useless. This essay will discuss both views.

A person who is applying for a new work needs to take into account that she or he needs to share personal details with an employer. This is because the employer needs to get to know the new person and make sure she or he is suitable and trustworthy. Personal information like hobbies and interests can make a clear picture of one’s personality and character. Family status is also very important as then-employer knows about whether you live a family or single life and do decisions about working hours accordingly. Knowing person’s details it can be taken into consideration and being respectful with this person. For instance, in my workplace is one woman who prefers to be gender-neutral and feels offensive when anybody calls one ‘’she’’ or ‘’her’’.

Some people have an opinion that sharing personal information is irrelevant and unnecessary. Every person has their human rights and whether to give their details or not but when it comes to work then these questions are asked for a reason so if you are not answering to personal details you are probably not likely to suit for a job either. If there is a reason why a person does not want to share marital status it can be acceptable whereas not saying what hobbies or interests one has it would make employer suspicious. In addition, not giving personal details can have negative reflects for an employer in the near future. For example, a person who applied for a job while was pregnant and did not say it to the manager until it was visible and too late for a manager to find a replacement.

In conclusion, a person who attends to start work in a new place needs to share personal details for trust and suitability reasons. Otherwise, the employer might be suspicious why she or he does not give any information about itself and may not take one into consideration to hire or might be trouble itself when somebody is hiding information.