Employers sometimes ask people applying for jobs for personal information, such as their hobbies and interests, and whether they are married or single. Some people say this information may be relevant and useful. Others disagree.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

RECRUITERS ENQUIRE ABOUT PLETHORA OF THINGS BEFORE HIRING A CANDIDATE. NOWADAYS, PERSONAL DETAILS HAVE BEEN ADDED TO QUESTIONNAIRES IN SOME COMPANIES. WHILE SOME BELIEVE SUCH KNOWLEDGE ABOUT THE EMPLOYEE WILL BE SUBSTANTIAL AND OF UTMOST USE, OTHERS ARE AGAINST IT. THIS ESSAY WILL HIGHLIGHT THE BELIEFS OF EITHER SIDE OF PEOPLE.

ON ONE HAND, AWARENESS ABOUT THE APPLICANTS FAMILY AND SOCIAL LIFE IS KNOWN TO PLAY A CONSIDERATE ROLE IN RECRUITING THEM. THE PLACEMENT AUTHORITY COULD TAKE THE KNOWN FACTS INTO CONSIDERATION WHILE APPOINTING A PERSON IN PARTICULAR FIELD. IN OTHER WORDS, IF THE PANELIST KNOWS ABOUT THE CANDIDATES INCLINATION TOWARDS SPECIFIC FIELDS, IT WOULD BECOME EASIER FOR THEM TO ALLOCATE WORK IN THE SIMILAR DEPARTMENT. AS A RESULT OF THIS, EMPLOYEES WILL PERFORM INEVITABLY WELL IN THE DESIRED FIELDS COMPARED TO THE OTHER COMPANY. FOR INSTANCE, WE HAVE READ A LOT ABOUT THE REMARKABLE SUCCESS OF THE MULTINATIONAL COMPANY NAMED RELIANCE. WHAT IS THE SECRET BEHIND SUCH HUGE ACHIEVEMENT? ON INVESTIGATION, IT WAS FOUND OUT THAT THE MAJOR CONCERN OF THE HR DEPARTMENT WAS THE DESIRES AND LIKEABILITES OF THE WORKERS. ACCORDINGLY, THEY WERE ASSIGNED WORK. IN ADDITION TO THIS, FAMILY LIFE IS CONSIDERED TO BE ANOTHER POINT OF INTEREST AMONG SOME EMPLOYERS. PEOPLE BELIEVE THIS PLAYS A MAJOR ROLE IN REGULATING THE WORKING HOURS OF THE JOB. THIS WILL NOT ONLY EASE THE MINDSET OF EMPLOYEE BUT ALSO PROVIDE THEM SUFFICIENT TIME WITH THEIR HOUSEMATES.

ON THE OTHER HAND, ANOTHER GROUP OF INDIVIDUALS BELIEVE THAT ACCESS TO PERSONAL LIFE COULD DISRUPT THE COMFORT ZONE OF THE CANDIDATE. ACCORDING TO THEM, COMPELLING THE APPLICANT TO DISCUSS ABOUT THE UNPROFESSIONAL WORLD COULD STRAIN THEM AND THEREFORE, THEY MAY NOT BE ABLE TO PERFORM WELL IN THE INTERVIEW. FURTHERMORE, SUCH INFORMATION IS BELIEVED TO BE REDUNDANT AND COULD VANDALISE THE EMPLOYEE’S PRIVACY. THEREFORE, THE ABSURD QUESTION COULD IRREVERSIBLY DAMAGE THE PERFORMANCE OF JOB ASPIRANTS AT A GREATER EXTENT.

TO A LARGER EXTENT, I BELIEVE THE PERSONNEL SHOULD SEEK SOME KNOWLEDGE ABOUT CANDIDATES LEISURE ACTIVITIES, AREAS OF INTEREST AND THEIR MARITAL STATUS. SUCH PRAGMATIC SHIFT COULD EMBARK A FRIENDLY WORKING ENVIRONMENT AMONG THE COLLEAGUES AND OFFICIALS WHICH WILL ESCALATE THE OPPORTUNITIES AND SUCCESS RATE. NEVERTHELESS, THE TROUBLESOME SITUATION COULD BE ADDRESSED BY IN CAMPUS COUNSELLING SESSIONS PROVIDING A HEALTHIER ENVIRONMENT IN THE CORPORATE WORLD.