Employers sometimes ask people applying for jobs for personal information such as their habits and interests, and whether they are married or single. Some people say that this information may be relevant and useful. Others disagree.

Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

Generally, provisioning of personal details such as an individual's hobbies or marital status while applying for a job is questionable among certain demographics of the society. However, others think that sometimes this data might be useful for employers when filtering candidates. This essay will discuss both viewpoints to present an opinion conclusively.

On one side, personal interests of an individual reflects one's personality and social behavior. For example, If one mentions sports as one's favorite leisure time activity, then It shows that one would be physically and socially active. While reading book reflects compulsive reader. For certain jobs such as journalist, receptionist, customer care executive certain factors from their personal data have to be taken under consideration and employers analyze an individual applicant psychologically by considering these factors. Therefore, I agree that such questionnaires should be included by employers.

On the other hand, some candidates feel that it is unnecessary and insufficient usage of time during interviews by asking personal questions rather than directly asking technical questions to evaluate their skills. Moreover, job seekers sometimes feel bit reluctant or offended while asking marital status, especially If one is widow or divorcee. However, I strongly disagree with this viewpoint as asking someone about their interests is an easy way to initiate conversation. In addition to this, interviewers generally ask such questions to make applicant comfortable rather than jumping to technical details. With regard to being offended when facing questions to their marital status, In my opinion they should be bold enough to deal with the reality and proudly answer.

To conclude, brief personal details about the candidate is essential for employers to better analyse an applicant and to run interview process smoothly.