Employers sometimes ask people applying for jobs for personal information, such as their hobbies and interests, and whether they are married or single. Some people say that this information may be relevant and useful. Others disagree.Discuss both these vi

Employment methods vary throughout various businesses. Although major companies assure to be inclusive regardless of any individual identity or preferences, many require candidates to indicate their area of interest and personal concerns, claiming that it aids in hiring. This essay will discuss what could be the benefits for employers acquiring such information and why this practice is not appropriate and should be alleviated.

From the perspective of an employer, knowing the kind of activities applicant enjoy can provide additional details in personality of that person. If an individual keen to play solo sports rather than group-sports, he/she would not be a fit in work environment which involves team work. To put in other words, interests in daily life are one of the significant characteristic indicators. Furthermore, many companies make decision on the base of age or marital status as per requirements of available jobs. For instance, technological companies would much likely to hire young individuals as they can adapt advances in technology easily. Therefore, familiarity with potential employee's hobbies and personal interests can improve recruiting process.

Despite of the relevance for employers, intimate information is to be considered insignificant and can sometimes lead to elimination of capable employee. Firstly, such personal knowledge about one is not a standard of their qualification or skill. For example, some older people engage more in gadgets and have comprehensive knowledge of current trends. Thus, simple assumptions made by irrelevant data is ineffective. Secondly, asking such private questions could offense the applicants and can lead to feeling of being discriminated. This results in deterring self confidence of the candidate and professional value of the company being lowered. A case in point is that many employers do not hire young women as they would probably go on maternity leave. This kind of virtue can have negative impacts on society as whole and individuals.

To conclude, although some employers may believe personal information to be helpful to hire, I agree with the notion that it is an unnecessary info and must be removed from application forms for the jobs. I hope government and large businesses will continue to impose and promote all-inclusive work environment.