Essay topics: In some countries, an increasing number of people are suffering from health problems as a result of eating too much fast food. It is, therefore, necessary for governments to impose a higher tax on this kind of food.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

The revolutionary modern technology, leading a fast paced lifestyle, compelled human population to have a hectic life, in which individuals are in rush on their daily life, having no adequate time for cooking. Therefore, they tend to use junk foods as their prominent edible. Since junk foods are rich source of harmful fat, excessive using of them cause a common obesity in people of all ages, especially in youngster. To eliminate this harmful phenomena, it would be a good practice to rise the tax for short-term however, government should have some other bylaws to fully abolish the issue.

Imposing higher tax on fast food will definitely reduce its usage by poor people, however it may not work for affluent portion of the society. In addition to a rise in tax, encouraging people by some kind of reward would be a more practical solution. In this solution, individuals who order their meal from some selected restaurants which are serving healthy food will have a fractional refund for their bill. By doing this, people will have more tendency to replace fast food with a healthy edible.

Moreover, since most of the consumers are workers who choose fast food because of not having enough time and due to its convenient availability, rising taxes will not prevent them from using these kind of meals. There should be a healthy alternative which is as much easy-accessing as a fast food is. The alternative meal must have some features in order to be a suitable replace, including affordability and easy availability. It has to have high nutrition facts as well.

To sum up, I believe that in order to have a deduction in consumption of junk food, not only should government increase the tax, it should also introduce an appealing affordable healthy replacement.