Feedback and evaluation are necessary aspects of school and work but many people dislike being evaluated What are the causes of this problem How could it be solved

Exams, evaluation and assessment are words much associated with school and college life. However, there is disliking trend growing amongst students of this entire process. Personally, I believe any feedback regarding our performance must be welcomed and embraced. In this essay, I will discuss various reasons people quote for such aversion to the system and try to assert meticulous solution for the problem.

Generally, because of prejudice nature, pupils develop strong disownment towards test and results. Main cause for this attitude is, society has judgemental look on those who receive negative remarks. In contrast, people who receive positive report will be applauded and garnered with all merits. Exactly this differential treatment, what makes students to avoid criticism. Similarly, job prospects and future education is also much linked to the comments of evaluator. On the other hand, most of the employers, offer respected positions to those who has secured highest marks and let the other to procure menial jobs . Nevertheless, the role of analysis and rating, very important to understand our career projector. Without appraisals, whether primary or university education, we will be blind about our lacunas and weakness. For an instance, in an observation conducted under guidelines of Ministry of education, over selected schools reveals that sufficient progress is absent in students till the age of 6-8 since there are no formal exams. Whereas, once after kids attending exams at regular intervals significant skills improved in short period of time.

In order to bring change, from students point of view, there should be transparency in the whole exercise. In addition, parents and teachers need to have care-free approach on students when it comes to final results. Apart there is strict confidentiality to be managed by institutions and lecturers about their students performance. In this way, we can relax social pressure on the kids who had no outstanding points. Alongwith, awareness and proper methodology to make good use of report card to be created so that everyone can readily accept feedback. Instead of announcing on open platform, results can be delivered to individual addresses. Infact, one such example is ,In India suicide attempts reduced when Central Board Exams decided to stop using newspaper to publish result, instead opted internet where only individuals can view them personally.

From above discussions it is clear that anxiety is main cause for avoiding feedback. This being the case, we should tackle the situation only by alerting them to benefits of evaluation. Therefore, we need to have smooth transition for making them to accept the change.