Fewer and fewer people walk on a daily basis. What are the reasons and how to encourage them to spend their time walking?

In the today’s dynamically developing world strolling as a healthy exercise has become less and less popular in society. There seem to be two main causes and a variety of realistic solutions to low walking activity in society, which I will examine further.

Probably the main reason behind the issue at hand of low people activity outside is a lack of green area and air pollution. The former happened because of poor zoning plans in a town. As a result, people do not have an opportunity to go for a walk close to their house. The latter is a result of car and industry emission in a town. Not only has it become uncomfortable walking along roads, but it also unhealthy to breathe because of the smoke. Thus it is clear that a poor zoning plan and an excessive amount of pollutants in the air are a serious cause in this question.

Turning to possible solutions, perhaps the immediate step would be to raise government awareness of this problem. As long as authorities give permission for constructing residential areas, without any close located parks for leisure time, the number of people who do not walk will be dramatically increased. Secondly, to encourage the use of electric cars is a possible solution to reduce air emission. Therefore, strict government control of the array of parks and the level of air emission in a town is a possible solution to increase the number of people walking outside.

Finally, as the above shows, air emission and lack of places for walking are the major causes of weak popularity of outside exercising in society. To create a positive atmosphere for this activity, governments should pay more attention in order to increase the number of green areas in a city and pursued people to use more pollution-free cars.