Fewer schools are requiring children to learn and improve their hand writing skills. Do the advantage outweigh the disadvantages of this trend

Learning and improving students handwriting is becoming a lower priority for some schools. In my opinion, it has more drawbacks. In my opinion, sharpening writing skills has more benefits to students; however, this trend could be detrimental to the students writing abilities and cognitive development.

On the one hand, the less importance given to handwriting can be advantageous in certain aspects. Firstly, students are generally under the pressure of leaning academic subjects like Math and physics. On top of it, learning writing skills would become an added task for them. Secondly, with the advent of modern technology, several pupils are using tablets and smartphones to help them with their assignments. Fewer written notes are being witnessed in classrooms.

On the other hand, discouraging the habit of improvement in handwriting often leads to a negative impact on their learning abilities. As the student learns to write, they develop their writing style, and if the practice of handwriting is less, the writing also becomes illegible over the period. For instance, primary school children who practice cursive writing less frequently, their writing is often difficult to understand. Legible writing is often compared to a calm state of mind, and in my perspectives, educational institutions should have separate classes to hone this skill. Furthermore, writing practices improves the cognitive development in students,it helps them retain and understand the subject material.

To illustrate, if a student reads something that needs to be remembered, he/she could write it several times to learn it. Therefore, in my view, to have a sharp mind and to keep text retained, writing is a crucial exercise.

To sum up, even some schools often believe improving writing is not essential, however, it ought to be utilised as a skill that stimulates the young minds to learn and grasp the subjects that are taught.