Is freedom of speech necessary in a free society? Give reasons for your answer.

Freedom of speech is defined as a system with people are free to speak, write and read anything of their interest. It is a fundamental requirement of a democratic society. Unless it is used to defame someone's personal life matters, peaceful religious belief or cultural practices, it is essentially a key factor for a society to thrive.

freedom of speech benefits a society in many ways. Firstly, it is a voice of the public and a democratic government always need to value the public saying either in the form of suggestions or complaints. These feedbacks of the public are golden guidelines to improve the service they render. Furthermore, The thought of community is a valuable source of information for political leaders and public authorities to formulate a future plan and to conduct development activities. Secondly, speech freedom helps to develop a healthy and competitive society. In a suppressed and restricted society, new ideas and creativity could not come forward because people in such a controlled environment are scared to express ideas and expose their creativity.

Moreover, it opens the secrets of cultural beliefs and brings them on public debate. Which is sometimes helpful to solve the problem of superstitious. For example; there are some bad practices such as gender-biasedness, polygamy, inequality in the justice, caste system etc. they need to be spoken up and so, the authority could take appropriate measures to control social injustice. However, freedom to speak against peaceful religious belief, cultural festivals, and some one's personal lifestyle, as long as they are not affecting others, is not a good idea as it could lead to violence and dissatisfaction.

In conclusion, freedom of speech supports a society from multiple angles. It is essentially important as it respects the public view, encourages creativity, and brings forward the bad practice of the community. It is a good environment where people think and grow without hesitation and limitation.