Is freedom of speech necessary in a free society? Give reasons for your answer.

Liberty of expression of one’s opinion is a God-given right and therefore should not be hindered by any individual or government body. If, an individual’s opinion is restricted , he/she seizes to live freely. In free nations, people are allowed to express themselves and their opinion verbally or in written language. That is why laws are put in place in these nations to tackle any hinderance of an individual or individuals liberty of speech. I think, it is paramount that freedom of speech be enable in communities without barriers.

The opinion of the public towards the governance of a society cannot be known if their freedom of expression is taken away. As, liberty of opinion gives room for correction of these errors in their decision and also creates a ground for criticizing the government positively. A lot of times the government has no knowledge of what the public are facing, how bad the errors of their decision is affecting the people or how well they are benefiting from it. Furthermore, It is only from the lips of the people that knowledge of their challenges can be made known to these bodies through the right channel. For example, a project to build a football field in a community that is in need of light is a bad decision by the authorithies. Better suggestions what might help improve the life of the masses can be heard from the masses themselves through their spokesman or in a private meeting. This will give rise to a better governance and happy people.

In conclusion, people’s voices should not be hindered, because this will mean living under a dictator governance and an important reason for existence is being manipulated by the society.