Freeze:

Some people think that money is one of the most essential factors in promoting happiness. Do you think people can be happy without much money? What other factors contribute towards happiness?

A certain school of thought believe that money is the most crucial means of attaining happiness. In my opinion, I think that our happiness is not dependent on our financial status. This essay will discuss the reason for my stance in detail alongside the other factors that can contribute toward happiness.

To begin with, the importance of money in modern life cannot be underrated. However, human desires and wants cannot be generalized as we all have different things that make us happy. For some, it is having a loving wife and children, while there are others who derive joy and fulfillment from volunteering in the community. For example, research has shown that many poor and low income individuals are less likely to commit suicide when compared with richer people, because they are happy with other aspects of their lives asides money.

There are two main factors that can make people happy. Firstly, investing in healthy living and diets. It is generally said that health is wealth because people with different ailments and sicknesses arising from their poor lifestyle cannot be said to be happy. For example, the billionaire CEO of Apple Limited shared his regret about being a chronic smoker which lead to a terminal lung cancer that ultimately cost his life. Secondly, provision of basic amenities by the government can influence our happinesses positively. People living in developed countries are usually heavily tax and indebted, despite their low financial strength, they are happy with their standard of living due to the availability of good roads, hospitals and electricity.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that our happiness as humans is not reliant on our financial capabilities. Being in good health and having access to infrastructure are factors that can encourage happiness.