Some people feel that the design of newly constructed buildings in big cities should be controlled by government. others believe those who financed the construction of a building should be free to design it as they fit.

Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Solution

In major cities, there are a plethora of building structures with the skyscrappers being the most common. It then begs the question of who should determine what a building should look like. Some have said it is the government's responsibility while others say its should be the owners. In my view, i agree with the former view.

In major cities, there is a plethora of building structures ,with the tall houses being the most common. It then begs the question of who should determine what a building should look like. Some have said it is the government's responsibility while others say it should be the owners. In my view, I agree with the former view. This essay would discuss both views and my opinion.

To begin, the government should have the function of approving building plans to ensure conformity with the master plan, and i agree. In other words, they typically reserve certain areas for residential and business development for easy running of the cities. The supporters of the view believe if governments hands off building design, house owners would build houses indiscriminately which would disfigure the city's landscape. For example, edifice are built in commercial areas in major cities of the world in line with government's plan and this cluster create an amazing scenery.

In contrast, some people opine that funding parties of such project should have the prerogative of choosing what they want. People should be at a liberty to decide what they wish to build, after all it is their money being spent, i may wish a bungalow while the other man wants a storey building. For instance, in Victoria Island, Lagos, the buildings are not uniform and they serve both residential and commercial activities.

Although, there are diverse views on this issue, i believe government should determine and approve building designs so as to ensure people follow laid down plans.