In the future it is expected that there will be a higher proportion of

old people than younger people in many countries.

Is this a positive or negative development?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from

your own knowledge or experience.

Eldery people are living longer today and their percentage is exceeding younger people by a high number in different countries around the world. While some people view this as a negative trend, I see it as positive sign for development economicaly and socialy.

The high number of old generation over the younger one will benefit the country in several ways. The most important advantage that old people have over the young is the experience. They have been living for a while so their experience in work is very rich. Thus, they can share this experience with the youngers. Valuable lessons will be taught to the young so they can avoid mistakes and save time. For example, I have personally benefited from my grandfather who showed me how to save an endangered plant. Without his knowledge that accumulated over the years, the plant could have not been saved.

Another benefit for having old people more than young people is socialisation. Eldery will bring all the family together and keep them united. This is so true among eastern society. In the Arab world, people pay so much respect to older people's opinion and obey them. This is so benefitial in troubles as eldery people could easily solve problems and end any fighting with wisdom. Therefore, the presence of older people is vital in special events where conflicts may occur.

To conclude, it is positive to have old people more than young people for the development of any country. They can help in saving time and efforts through sharing their knowledge and experience.