In the future, more people will choose to go on holidays in their own country and not travel abroad on holidays. Do you agree or disagree?

Tourism has been booming and it is believed that people will prefer local trips rather than abroad. However, in my opinion, I disagree as I think foreign journeys will become more prominent due to globalization and conveniency of travelling.

One main reason why people might travel to other countries more is because of the advancement in technology, especially the internet. People are now aware of the far-flung places which are renowned amongst tourists. This mainly happens with the help of social media such as Instagram and Facebook where people upload manifold pictures. Because of it, people have in fact started travelling more to these locations since the start of the second millennium.

Another point of people preferring to visit abroad is that it has become far more Convinent to travel. Earlier, people were confined to just the local areas but now, there is hardly any place which is not connected by flight or by some other mode of transportation. The Heathrow airport, for example, has 1300 flights landing every day from around the globe and this figure is expected to double by 2030. Even the rates of these flights have dramatically alleviated because of which, the ones from lower society can also dream of travelling to new countries.

Finally, holidaying will also depend on the amount of time people have. In other words, people are living in a cut-throat competition that would give them very little time to travel. But whenever they do, they will plan to make the most out it by travelling to new countries. As they would want to create great memories which they believe can only be done at lavish and exotic foreign places.

In recapitulation, even thought travelling would be done less, I think the future is bright for International tourism mainly due to the advancement in technology.