Giving Pocket Money to Children is very common in many countries. Discuss both the advantages as well as disadvantages about the practice and what is your opinion about it.

Childhood is the perfect time to learn money management. It is increasingly become normal to give some pocket money to children. In my opinion, this would be beneficial for them to learn the basics of money management, although there are some drawbacks. Let us discuss this further to have a better understanding.

Firstly, considering the benefits, one of the significant advantages of giving pocket money to children is that they can learn how to spend money responsibly. To elaborate, when children have their cash, they learn not to waste because if they did, they would have trouble buying what truly needed. For instance, a child can spend his pocket money to buy candy if their parent packs him a delicious lunch. But if he had to buy his lunch from the given cash, he would reconsider spending on candy, which teaches them how to manage it properly and responsibly. Moreover, parents can teach them the value of saving by letting them save some portion of the money and afford whatever they desired.

One the other hand, focusing on the negatives. Firstly, when they grow older, this money can be spent on consuming unhealthy products such as alcohol or cigarette. Secondly, by collecting this money, they involve in some bad companies such as clubs and pubs, especially when they are in adolescence.

However, alcohol consumption or smoking, and getting involved with damaging people cannot be avoided just by not giving pocket money. Parents should guide them to be more responsible and avoid detrimental habits.

To sum up, despite the negative side of alcohol addiction, smoking and wasting time with harmful people, giving some cash to children with proper guidance would provide them with a chance to learn and be responsible about their money.