Giving Pocket Money to Children is very common in many countries. Discuss both the advantages as well as disadvantages about the practice and what is your opinion about it.

Childhood is the perfect time to learn financial management. There is a significant emphasis placed on giving some pocket money to children. In my opinion, this would be beneficial for them to learn the basics of handling money, and saving despite the drawbacks such as bad habits, and poor associations. Let us discuss this further to have a better understanding.

Firstly, considering the benefits, by giving pocket money, children can realize the value of finance. To elaborate, when youngsters own their cash, they learn not to waste because if they did, they would have trouble buying what they truly needed. For instance, a child can spend his pocket money to buy candy if their parent packs him a delicious lunch. But if he had to buy his lunch from the given cash, he would reconsider spending on candy, which teaches them how to manage it properly and responsibly. Moreover, parents can instruct them to save a portion of that money and afford whatever they desired, which encourages offsprings to save and use money more consciously.

Secondly, focusing on the negatives. When they grow older, this money can be spent on consuming unhealthy products such as alcohol or cigarette. Furthermore, adolescence could involve in some bad companies such as clubs and pubs, if they have extra cash. In contrast, if they were lack of money, the risk of such drawbacks would be minimized.

However, alcohol consumption or smoking, and damaging involvement with people cannot be avoided totally just by not giving pocket money. Proper parental and school guidance is mandatory to prevent children from such detrimental habits.

To sum up, despite the negative side of alcohol addiction, smoking and wasting time with harmful people, giving some cash to youngsters with proper guidance would upskill their financial management skills and saving habits.