Some people say that governments should subsidise fruit and vegetables to make healthy food cheaper. Others say it is better to tax unhealthy food

Discuss both these views and give your own opinions.

In spite of the emphasis placed on encouraging healthy dietary habits, the debate still exists on whether governments should subsidise fruit and vegetables or tax unhealthy food to incentivise wholesome sustenance. In my opinion, funding would be a practical approach than imposing diets.

Admittedly, taxing could increase the price of unhealthy foods. As a result, the middle and low-income class would gradually decrease the consumption of fast and processed food due to increased price tags. Primarily, fast food addiction of both youngsters and adults could mitigate by introducing high price. Moreover, with high tax for ingredients and production, producers also getting discouraged due to decreased revenue. For instance, when there is no profit in the fast-food market, entrepreneurs would not invest, and consequently, governments can easily control the industry. If there were no such control, it would be exceedingly hard to reduce the unwholesome eating customs of the mass.

However, one of the main reasons why people are distracting from healthy and organic food is the excessively high price. Whereas, compared to organic food, processed food is far cheaper. Therefore, subsidising farmers to grow fruit and vegetables organically could help to reduce the price. Furthermore, this will motivate people to start agri-businesses resulting in increased food production in the country. An excellent example of this trend is with government support, and youth are now starting cultivating the increased amount of lands in most of developing countries. Conversely, this helps to reduce healthcare expenditures as well as improving the living quality of the country. It is beneficial to change dietary habits and to promote sustainable businesses than suppressing people with tax.

In conclusion, although taxation could reduce processed food consumption, I believe it is more advantageous to encourage organic farming by providing subsidies.