Global Warming is one of the biggest threats to our environment.

What causes global warming?

What solutions are there to this problem?

Global Warming is a natural phenomenon of earth which helps it maintain its normal temperature and sustain ecosystem. However, recent human activities have triggered an increase in the rate of global temperature increase per year.

Apart form being a natural phenomenon, a plethora of human activates are responsible for global warming. First of all, as a result of population boom, more and more deforestation is done to make room for housing, commercial and leisure space to cope up. In order to meet increased demand of commercial goods, industrial space is increased which in turn contributes to industrial pollution. A recent study conducted by United Nations Environment Assembly suggests around 70% of air and water pollution around the world is due to industries. Moreover, an incline in automobile usage further amplifies the global warming issue as more and more cars burn fossil fuels and contribute to air pollution. This combined industrial and automobile pollution results in increased green house gases in the atmosphere and they can no longer be absorbed by trees as there is not enough green space on earth as a result of deforestation. In addition to that years of usage of CFCs/HCFCs in refrigerators and air conditioning units has resulted in ozone layer depletion over south pole. Unfortunately, that further increases the risk of global warming as harmful Ultraviolet rays from sun are trapped inside earth’s solar system.

Nevertheless, there are steps which we can take to slow the global warming and help recover our mother earth. Firstly, we need to stop being dependent on conventional resources of energy such as fossil fuel, coal and natural gas. Instead we should invest in renewable resources of energy like solar, hydro, wind, tidal and others. As we will shift to clean sources of energy, green house gases will slowly be absorbed by our forests. In addendum, we need to do afforestation and reforestation wherever possible, our natural forest cover acts as lungs of our earth as only forests can absorb harmful carbon dioxide.

In a nutshell, global warming is earth’s natural activity to control its temperature and help flourish flora and fauna. Human beings need to control their activities and focus shift on resources that do not affect environment.