Government investment in the arts, such as music and theatre, is a waste of money. Governments must invest this money in public services instead.

To what extent do you agree with this statement?

A huge amount of money is poured in entertainment industry every year by governments. However, some people believe it is not worth it and that money should rather be invested in public services. In my opinion, I do not agree with the statement as government investments in arts are very lucrative both for individuals and society.

One of the deciding factors for maintaining the investment in arts and crafts is that they act as a main source of entertainment and relaxation. In modern society, people are dealing with a lot of stress and anxiety. So, listening to music, watching movies, artifacts, etc. should help them cope with stress and feel better. Moreover, experts believe that some forms of music also work as a therapeutic treatment which can be useful in treating some severe depression cases.

Another pressing reason to not to stop funding to entertainment industry is that as we live in a globalized world, we are unable to preserve our cultural values, traditions and native languages. According to a latest survey by University of Toronto, out of 1.5 billion English speakers around the world only 360 million are native English speakers. Hence, there is a dire need to conserve various cultures in the form of music in different languages, souvenirs, movies, theatrical dramas and other means.

In addendum, having adequate funding available for arts do not only help individuals but also society as a whole. Various artists represent their nation at international awards shows which is a proud moment for their country. Moreover, investing in arts also bring economic advantages for a country in form of taxes and other means.

To rejuvenate, Governments must continue spending reasonable amount of money on arts as it is beneficial for both people and country and it can be recouped in various other forms easily.