A government has a responsibility to its citizens to ensure their safety. Therefore, some people think that the government should increase spending on defense but spend less on social benefits.

To what extent do you agree?

It is generally taken for granted that one of the most indispensable duties, any government should attempt for, is improving security and safety throughout the territory. That's why, part of public believe that according to the situation of the country, military reaction ability should be concerned while others think there are long-term and peaceful strategies leading to decrease of the defense budget in favor of country development.

Budget prioritizing is one of the imperative responsibilities of government and constitutional organizations in any country, according to main infrastructural plans and current threats for people and territory. Although security and safety of citizens are the basic demands by society, the government should take all the aspects of basic needs into account to schedule the budget spending as efficient as possible. So it completely depends on the circumstances of the country, the region and active conflicts around, which determine how authorities should dedicate money aiming for defense capabilities enhancement. However, in general, countries always try to obtain adequate reaction ability as a preventive strategy against expected threats.

To take another angle of view, some countries have been trying to rethink their general foreign policies to minimize conflicts with other nations as a long-term measure to reduce military expenditures which will immensely benefit citizens in their social demands namely, healthcare, education and services. In this regard, one can consider Switzerland as an exemplary country that has been playing a neutral role in all conflicts and wars throughout the recent century. As a result, its government has been able to concentrate on social welfare excellently. The other concern that pushes governments to direct a huge amount of money toward military equipment and soldiers, might be the internal threats same as domestic conflicts and rebels who can launch civil wars against the central government when they feel to be ignored. In this case, democratic government systems would be able to settle any kind of outcry peacefully, so can reduce military-associated costs in favor of social benefits. As statistics have also revealed, democratic countries mainly decided to restrain their military budget growth at a moderate pace or even reduce it in some years.

In conclusion, how governments would prioritize the budget, is deeply rooted in the main demands of their society and on-going threats. But as a general trend, countries which are ruling by autocratic regimes are more remarkably concentrating on defense abilities for facing with either external conflicts or internal civil wars, the purposes which may not be true demands and priorities of their citizens.