A government has a responsibility to its citizens to ensure their safety. Therefore, some people think that the government should increase spending on defense but spend less on social benefits. To what extent do you agree?

Spending on military has become a subject of extremely controversial topics in recent years because of its effects on societies. Although armed forces are vitally important in protecting a nation, raising the amount of financial resources for them is not worthwhile.

It is clear that military is definitely imperative to a nation. First, its primary duty is defense the nation and its interests against either internal or external enemies. Actually, by spending a massive amount of money on defense, American government ensures their nation is not subject to directly attack by any nations since their military is supposed to be the most powerful forces of the world. Second, military also participates in non-military tasks. In fact, these forces contribute to dealing with some kinds of disasters, such as earthquakes, flood and forest fires, which helps to reduce the loss of life and property since they offer assistance to the victims with invaluable support in rescue and emergency medical services.

Nevertheless, spending more on defense is not without limitations. First, it comes at the expense of diminishing on other sectors, which negatively impacts to society’s development. For instance, if children who are the future national leaders are not equipped enough knowledge to deal with the challenges that they have to face in the future since the financial supports on education is reduced, which leads to detrimental effects on development of country due to their wrong decisions. Second, raising of amount on military also causes impacts on individuals at some point. For example, in order to increase the funding on military without cutting off the other areas’ expenditures, higher taxes would be imposed, which put more burdens to people since the money that they take to home is lesser.

In conclusion, given that military is crucial for defense purposes, increasing its budget does not offer a net positive benefit. In order to maintain the national stability, government should take steps to strike a balance between military and non-military funding.