Government investment in the arts, such as music and theatre, is a waste of money. Governments must invest this money in public services instead. Do you agree or disagree?

Money is a valuable commodity and the future of everyone, be it a country, a family or an individual depends on how prudently we manage it. Therefore, there is always a bone of contention that the government should curb the allotted budget for arts like music or theatre and invest in other communal services. However, I completely disagree with the statement as arts reflect the cultural value and a great stress buster.

There are two reasons why I am not inclined to cut the budget of the arts. Firstly, Arts is the life of our culture. Through music and theatre, one can display the custom and traditions of their community. For example, by watching the theatre of a particular region, one can easily predict the nature of the people of that particular place, their dressing style and their beliefs. Hence, arts is of utmost importance to understand the culture of other regions, which would, in turn, make them tolerant of others' beliefs.

Secondly, arts are rejuvenating as they help individuals to fight depression. Due to technical revolution, people usually find themselves alone as everyone is busy with their own gadgets; thus, because of lack of socialization, they get slipped into depression. Then, these arts are the way to indulge themselves in some kind of activity such as painting, dancing. Not only this would help them to fight depression but also build confidence by getting appreciation. Therefore, arts place an important role in one's life.

To encapsulate, having discussed both merits and demerits of arts and needs of public services, the benefits arts bring in, such as instilling respect for other cultures and a kind of medicine for mental illness recommends that it should be given monetary support.