Education is not a luxury, but a basic human right and as such should be free for everyone irrespective of personal wealth. Do you agree or disagree?

Education is an indispensable part of our life; hence, people argue that it should be made free for all, be it rich or poor. I partly disagree with the statement, in my view, elementary and secondary education should be free so that everyone gets an equal level of it, whereas tertiary studies should be charged but accessible, and I would justify my stand in the ensuing paragraphs.

To begin with, education is precious and the future of any country relies on it. It has been seen that a nation with a high literacy rate is more progressed. Thus, it is the government's duty to make it accessible to everyone. It should be free for primary and secondary schooling which ensures equality in the form quality. By this I mean, all the schools would have the same curriculum and the same level of education. Otherwise, these schools would make it a business and children would become their product. Consequently, there would be a competition between parents and schools.

On the other hand, higher education should be charged as it is expensive to cater to the needs and it demands investment. Also, more investment means more money to hire extraordinary teachers, which, in turn, improves its quality. Moreover, at this age, children have developed to a level where their mindset is, the cheaper is less valuable. Thus, to maintain its respect, it should be charged. However, those who cannot afford the government should develop schemes to help them such as providing interest-free loans, or fewer fees for people with a certain income group and so on.

To encapsulate, the needs and requirements at every level of education are different; hence, I partly agree with the view that it should be free of cost, there should not be any fee during schooling, but for tertiary education, to maintain its level and dignity, a reasonable fee is required.