Government investment in the arts, such as music and theatre, is a waste of money. Governments must invest this money in public services instead.To what extent do yo u agree with this statement?

Public authorities, sometimes, fall under criticism when they spend too much money on art activities such as the musical festival, theater, and literature. Some people argue that the money could be better utilized to improve the health, education, and security system of the community. In my point of views, although, the public sector should be given higher priority while allocating resources, spending on art activities could be also justified from several grounds.

To begin with, the public sectors such as health, education, social welfare, and community development are primarily important to develop a civilized society. They are the main indicators of quality of living of the people and therefore, improvement of these sectors is pivotal for economic prosperity. Since the healthcare sector in many countries around the world is still working with limited resources, higher funding is, of course, essential to provide extra service, to buy new medical equipment and employ more doctors and nurses. Likewise, improvement of the school building, upgrading libraries, labs, and the education system also require a substantial amount of fund. Thus, it is clearly justifiable to relocate government budget to improve health, education, and other public related issues rather than spending on unproductive sectors.

On the other hand, every civilized society has its own cultural identity and consequently, spending on music, art and literature festivals are imperative to save the identity and pride. Secondly, people need music and other art activities to get relief from a hectic modern lifestyle and therefore, we need them to grow and develop with the support of public authorities.

From the above discussion, it could be concluded that public sectors are essentially the backbone of a country and they should be undoubtedly on the top priority of the government budget, however, music, art, and other cultural activities have also their own importance and so should be given some level consideration too.