The mass media, including television, radio, newspapers, and social media have great influence in shaping people's ideas.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

News and media play an essential role in shaping our thought and changing our society. In this age of globalization, media and news are helping us to be more informed, more connected and more educated. However, there are some negative aspects, such as misleading information, violence or vulgar contents etc; which need to be taken into serious consideration. In this essay, I intend to analyze both aspects before making a conclusion.

News and media are the eyes of our society through which we see our surroundings and the world. Firstly, they play a vital role to inform and educate us in many ways. For example, we get information from our local council's next year developments projects through the news. We find out the latest innovation in science or technology via news/media. Secondly, media is the bridge between the government and the public. People often know the change in government policies, rules and regulation, government budget and government plans through the newspaper, television or social media. In addition, through media, people could place feedback in the form of direct comment or letter to the editor to address their concern on the related issue. Thirdly, media act as the watchdog to stop public authorities from wrongdoing like corruption or misuse of power.

Moreover, the media act as the voice of voiceless people in society. They could support the poor, backward and excluded people in many ways. For instance, reporters could raise voice against the injustice against backward people, who otherwise could not speak up. Media could also help poor people by raising fund. Finally, the media educate us about the secrets information of societies or cultures.

On the other hands, critics argue that media has some bad impacts. They are skeptical about the biased, prejudiced, unbalance, inaccurate and self-opinionated news. Sometimes, a misleading report by a bad intended reporter on sensitive issues like religion could lead to destroying peace in the society. Secondly, some media cast violent or vulgar content to increase viewers/readers. It could directly affect young people. Thirdly, giving unnecessary importance to celebrities' personal life sometimes deprive them to practice privacy.

In conclusion, though, there are some negative impacts, we should not underestimate its enormous role to change our society in a positive way. It could be suggested to block or pay less or no attention to negative news and be informed with positive ones.