A growing numbers of cities are making their centres pedestrian-only zones.What are the advantages and disadvantages?

Population density forced the municipality officials to take some measures in order to control heavy traffics in the downtown. It is becoming increasingly popular among the cities to ban the commuting of any motorized vehicles. The argument that allowing people to pass the city centers just on foot is repudiated and supported by many. This essay will analyze this argument before declaring a position.

To begin with, the proponents of this trend believe that it can help reduce the amount of airborne pollutant in the air. For instance, consider a car-free downtown without any exhaustion of fumes in the air can help us inhale higher quality air. This approach enables people to enjoy pure air and forces them to leave their sedentary lifestyle aside and walk for some hours. Thus, this process not only helps the environment but also the people by actuating them to do some exercises.

An alternative position argues that many good hospitals are situated in the middle of the cities and the prohibition of the commuting of motorized vehicles can put patients into trouble. For example, car accident casualties should be received immediately in the hospitals and this deterrent law may endanger their life. As the health care centers provide services to all people, so it is wise to tackle this issue in some way. Therefore, the prevention of all kinds of vehicles into the city centers seems to be inapplicable.

As mentioned aforesaid, the pros and cons find this argument controversial. While, it may be considered an Eco-friendly activity and is prosperous for people, its negative consequence is focused on the hospitals located in the downtown. However, this drawback can be resolved should the guidance and driving officials consider a VIP line for the passage of ambulances only. In conclusion, I hope that this kind of environmentally friendly activities will become prevalent in the foreseeable future.