A growing numbers of cities are making their centres pedestrian only zones What are the advantages and disadvantages

Population density forced the municipality officials to take some measures in order to control heavy traffics in the downtown. It is becoming increasingly popular among the cities to ban the commuting of any motorized vehicles. This argument has both advantages and disadvantages. This essay will analyze both sides before declaring a conclusion.

To begin with, a fair number of people claim that this trend can help reduce the amount of airborne pollutant in the air and have a healthier society. For instance, consider a car-free downtown without any fumes exhaustion can help us inhale less polluted air. Furthermore, this approach forces individuals to leave their sedentary lifestyle aside for a while and walk for some hours. Thus, this process is not only prosperous for the environment but also for the people by actuating them to do some exercises.

However, pedestrianisation of the downtown hubs may transfer traffic-congestion to the surrounding areas and also relocating of business centers. For example, as the number of passersby decrease due to its accessibility, then many stores like to go to the crowded places in order to increase their income. As a matter of fact, this trend may transfer the traffic jams to the vicinity areas which cause irritation for people living there. Therefore, the prevention of vehicles into the city centers can incur some negative repercussions.

As mentioned aforesaid, the merits and drawbacks of this argument were examined. While, its merits override its negative consequences and it may be considered an Eco-friendly activity and is prosperous for people, its negative consequences should be mitigated. In conclusion, I hope that this kind of environmentally friendly activities will become prevalent in the foreseeable future.