With a growing population, many people believe that we should focus on more genetically modified foods.

What are the advantages and disadvantages of doing this?

The scarcity of nutrition supply is becoming apparent in the world, so some genetics scientists suggest solving this problem by transformed genes. This essay will consider the pros and cons of this kind of food.

Let us begin with merits of food with modified genetic structure. The first advantage is that it is resistant to both illnesses and pesticides. Most vegetables and fruits perish in large numbers because of various diseases as well as unwanted insects, but genetically altered food are immune to many infections and have an unattractive smell for pesticides. Another benefit is that its production is relatively more fruitful. Food with modified genes can grow faster and bigger than traditional ones, so more people can feed on them. Furthermore, it can thrive in dry regions. This sort of vegetation can flourish, for example, in desserts due to its ability to consume small amounts of water.

Despite the above mentioned benefits, genetically modified foodstuff has many drawbacks. First of all, it may cause some serious disorders. Food, which has genetic modification, has caused cancer in some cases, but medicine organization has not acknowledged these incidents yet. Secondly, genetically altered food has some negative impacts on the environment. This food usually poisons trees and small animals, when it penetrates the soil as household waste. Finally, it is hardly possible to find traditional food in large markets. Genetically modified food is prevailing in the market thanks to its low price. This situation makes the sale of conventional food unprofitable, so one has to address private gardeners if he wants to buy unaltered vegetables.

In conclusion, genetically changed food has both positive and negative sides. However, in the future, people will need to find a solution to food shortage.