With a growing population many people believe that we should focus on more genetically modified foods What are the advantages and disadvantages of doing this

It is a commonly held belief that genetically-modified food plays a crucial role in the agricultural industry. Although there are a number of drawbacks in this trend, the benefits are by no means negligible.

On the plus side, the advantages accruing to farmers' income are manifold. To begin with, the most rational justification is that, genetic engineering makes crops more resistant to insects and diseases which leads to mass production and mass outputs. Growing genetic plants could increase the amount of harvest owing to characteristics of antipest. It also improves farmers' earnings which pose a positive effect on societies' economies. Genetically-engineered crops, furthermore, are larger and have a better texture with more nutrition values. A good illustration is the Taiwan genetically-modified rice with more vitamin B and the less risk of Diabetes diseases.

However, the downside cannot be ignored. The most axiomatic argument is that the manipulation of food changes its tastes. Take organic eggs and dairy products which are more hearty and delicious as an example. People's demand for these natural foods despite their high costs is more. Additionally, altering genes in some crops leads to serious unforeseen diseases such as allergies and cancer for people and dangerous repercussions for the environment. Take Some Brazilian genetically-changed nuts which cause severe allergies for people approximately over the last decade as an example. Authorities enacted legislation to stop producing these nuts as soon as possible. Not testing adequately for being safe food, they will be adversely affected and put people's health in jeopardy.

T sum up, producing genetically food could be both rewarding and problematic. Although they boost the amount of harvest which overshadows societies' economies and improve it, the people's health could be harmed.