With a growing population many people believe that we should focus on more GM foods What are the advantages and disadvantages of doing this

Due to ever increasing population, the demand of food is always going to rise. Some people advocate that to overcome this situation, more efforts should be made on genetically modified foods. This essay will discuss the merits and demerits of genetically modified foods.

The prime advantage of growing these kind of food will encounter the biggest issue of hunger of this world. Even after ages, hunger is one of the biggest dilemma of any society. In a recent survey, it has been published that almost one third of population gets affected due to insufficient food supply. With this kind of technique, farmers can harvest in abundance. Moreover, another perk is availability of some seasonal foods throughout the year. Especially in tropical countries where many vegetables and fruits can be seen only during some particular time of the year. Recently in India with the help of these latest technologies, mangos are cultivated during a whole year. That is how selling these items can generate extra income to farmers in a year.

However, the demerits of these foods are also inevitable. There are many incidents where ultimate purpose of nutrition of any food is lost. Due to alterations in their genetics, many times they are not useful health wise. Apparently, these is going to affect on human health as well. In the last decade, there has been evidence of prevalence of some unusual cancer and genetic disease that are not usual before. Besides this, their higher cost is also a major drawback. As lots of research and technologies are being conducted for production of them, selling these foods on cheaper rates are impossible. For any middle class person, buying them becomes a dream.

To conclude, with the growth of these genetically modified foods, there is possibility of overcoming the issue of hunger. However, due to its uneconomical rates and harmful effects on human health it can be easily avoided.