With a growing world population one of the most pressing issue is that of feeding such large number of people. Some people think that genetically modified foods offer a viable solution to this problem

To what extent do you agree or disagree.

World's population is exploding at a faster pace. This demands more natural resources especially food. Some people believe that the possible solution for the food scarcity could be the cultivation of genetically modified foods. This essay will discuss both the views along with my opinion.

GM crops are well known for their high productivity when compared to the traditional crops. Monsanto, an American company has pioneered in producing these foods. With the increasing population, world needs increased food production, which is viable with GM plantations. According to the research conducted by Agricultural Department of USA, it was inferred that the yield of GM plants from 1-acre land is 4 times higher than the yield from normal plants. Scientists considered this invention to be a boon to the mankind. Hence, GM foods are the best choice to overcome food scarcity.

Though GM foods produce more amount of food in less time, they can cause health issues and are considered harmful to humans. As these vegetables are genetically modified, they might lead to cancers and several health ailments. For instance, GM foods are banned in European Union due to the adverse effects post their consumption. As per the research study published in science journal, it was confirmed that the group of people who consumed GM foods were more susceptible to diseases than the group who ate traditional foods. Hence, GM crops are not an alternative option to increase the food production.

In my opinion, though GM foods can increase the yield by 4-fold, they cannot be utilized by humans as they can be carcinogenic and might cause many other health related problems.