The growth of online shopping will one day lead to all shops in towns and cities closing.

Do you agress or disagree?

In recent years, with the growth of internet, online shopping has become a trend. This has changed people's way of shopping; now-a-days more people shop online and not by visiting shops or malls. It is believed that this new way of shopping will put all the shops out of business. I completely disagree, and think that due to authenticity of products available in shops and the delivery time the shops will keep functioning.

The time required for the delivery of an online purchased item is higher which is one reason the general population opts to visit a shop. This is because, one can enter a shop and buy products without having to wait, which is not the case when it comes to buying things from an online store. For example, husbands and boyfriends often realise their anniversary dates on the day itself, which leaves them with a very short amount of time to buy gifts for their partners. Unless we have shops, this kind of impromptu shopping would not be possible, which is why shops in towns and cities will stay in demand, even if the online websites will receive more share of the business.

Another compelling point to consider is the lack of trust people have on the e-commerce websites. Although, online stores offers a variety of products and discounts, people find it difficult to trust the quality provided by them. As a result, they prefer to visit the retail outlets where they can check the product standards on the stop before purchasing. This not only avoids the overheads of contacting the customer support for reporting the issues, but also support reputation of brands.

In conclusion, although internet based shopping provides more seamless experience, factors such as delivery time and skepticism of shoppers will keep the traditional ways of shopping in existence.